Image copyright
Getty Images

Image caption

Google Photos app on a telephone

Google will now not routinely again up pictures and movies from social media platforms in its picture app.

Previously, the Google Photos app created a folder to retailer any media obtained by way of apps comparable to WhatsApp, Facebook and Instagram.

Google mentioned the modifications had been to save lots of web sources as “people are sharing more photos and videos” in the course of the Covid-19 pandemic.

The characteristic used up bandwidth and took up reminiscence on gadgets.

Earlier this yr, YouTube and Netflix made comparable strikes to scale back web site visitors, as extra individuals had been utilizing broadband at dwelling because of the coronavirus lockdown.

An XDA developer instructed information web site Android Police the next apps had been affected:

  • Facebook
  • Helo
  • Instagram
  • LINE
  • Messages
  • Messenger
  • Snapchat
  • Twitter
  • Viber
  • WhatsApp

Photos and movies which have already been backed up from messaging apps aren’t affected and you may flip the characteristic again on for those who want to use it.

How to again up particular images and movies:

  • Open the Google Photos app
  • Click on Library then “Photos on device,” faucet View all
  • Tap the folder with content material you need to again up
  • Select the picture or video you need to again up after which the choice “Back up now”

How to alter your back-up settings for system folders:

  • Open the Google Photos app
  • Click on Library then “Photos on device,” faucet View all
  • Tap the folder that you simply need to again up
  • At the highest, allow Backup and sync.

Several apps comparable to WhatsApp have their very own in-app choice to disable auto-saving of media.

To disable WhatsApp images and video from saving to iPhone:

  • Open the WhatsApp app
  • Click on “Settings” then “Chats”
  • Disable the button that claims “Save to Camera Roll”.