Jenna Bush Hager chosen a juicy, enjoyable decide for Read With Jenna ebook membership members this November. She selected Susie Yang’s debut novel, “White Ivy,” as her month-to-month choice.

The story’s protagonist, Ivy, isn’t the everyday heroine. She’s a grasp of deceit, decided to match into the white Protestant group she’s rising up in simply exterior of Boston.

As a Chinese immigrant, she strives for the glamorous life she associates with being American — by means of any means needed. This contains frequent stealing, which her grandmother taught her how to do as a younger woman.

Ivy’s life as she is aware of it’s flipped on its head when her mom discovers her unhealthy habits and sends her again to China.

Years later and again in Boston, Ivy’s obsession with assimilation culminates in her childhood crush, Gideon, who, to her, epitomized all the things sparkly about America. He and his household appeared to have all of it, however when she reunites with him as an grownup, the reader finds cracks on this good façade.

If you loved the novel, Yang recommends 5 of her favourite books for readers to dive into subsequent.

1. “Naomi” by Jun’ichirō Tanizaki

“Naomi” facilities across the obsessive love of 28-year-old Joji for Naomi, a younger teenager and waitress dwelling in post-WWI Tokyo. For Joji, a businessman from a rich Japanese farming household, Naomi is the bodily embodiment of the Western tradition he holds on a pedestal. To win her, he creates a plan to whisk Naomi away from her life. However, it is just after first adopting and eventually marrying Naomi that Joji realizes the naive woman he imagined his spouse to be was merely a fantasy in his head.

2. “My Year of Rest and Relaxation” by Ottessa Moshfegh

Ottessa Moshfegh’s 2018 ebook is a couple of latest Columbia grad dwelling in New York City in 2000. She appears to have all of it, dwelling off her inheritance, courting a boy who works on Wall Street and dealing a straightforward job at an artwork gallery. However, the narrator is way from OK.

The unnamed protagonist spends a 12 months taking an absurd concoction of medication prescribed by a horrible psychiatrist in an try to heal her, and thru that have, the writer explores the significance of feeling alienation somewhat than numbing your self to it.

3. “The Lying Life of Adults” by Elena Ferrante

From New York Times bestselling writer Elena Ferrante, “The Lying Life of Adults” is about Giovanna, a teen coming of age in a divided Naples, Italy. Giovanna’s dad tells her that she seems increasingly like her aunt, a lady he despises, each day. As she explores two very totally different sides of the identical metropolis searching for her aunt, she struggles to discover solutions in regards to the fact of who she is.

The ebook is a suspense novel in regards to the lies mother and father inform their youngsters. At instances hilarious and gut-wrenching, Ferrante’s novel breaks down society’s not possible beliefs of magnificence and conduct.

4. “The Complete Patrick Melrose Novels” by Edward St. Aubyn

Edward St. Aubyn has spent greater than 20 years of his life writing the story of Patrick Melrose. In the sequence of novels, he dissects the declining English higher class, exploring themes of greed, amorality and cruelty. Follow Patrick from childhood abuse to a harrowing battle with habit as an grownup with trials, tribulations and triumphs in between.

5. “The Line of Beauty” by Alan Hollinghurst

When Nick Guest moved into the attic room of the Feddens’ household residence in London’s Notting Hill in 1983, he had no thought how a lot his life could be altered by the rising fortunes of the glamorous household. As he’s immersed on this new world, he will get caught between two contrasting amorous affairs. Nick finds himself pursuing magnificence obsessively whereas his mates hunt down cash and energy.

A pointy social satire, Hollinghurst’s ebook is stuffed with witty observations about politics, society and household.

To keep up to date on the most recent ebook membership information, subscribe to the Read With Jenna e-newsletter!

For extra ebook suggestions, try:

To uncover extra offers, purchasing ideas and budget-friendly product suggestions, obtain the TODAY app and subscribe to the Stuff We Love e-newsletter!